Patterson Transmission Installation

edited September 2013 in Tour II
The Patterson Transmission is a two speed internally geared crank. Unlike the Schlumpf Drive, it's shifted with a standard front derailleur shifter instead of pressing buttons with your heels, which is far easier in my opinion. The Patterson is also far less expensive than the Schlumpf and does not require modification to the frame. The Patterson is fitted with a 28 tooth chain ring, and can operate in either 1 or 1.6 to 1 ratio, giving the equivalent of a double crank with 28 and 45 tooth chain rings. I've been eying the Schlumpf Mountain Drive for a few years, but the price, method of shifting, and requirement to modify the frame has kept me away. Last January I purchased a Tour II 8 speed as a rolling frame set, and decided to experiment with the Patterson.

Top.JPG

The Patterson is designed for upright bikes, but it can be fitted to a Tour II with a couple of accessories. Since it's designed for an upright bike, it's expected that the shift cable will come from above. However, on the Tour II the cable comes from below, so an accessory cable stop is required. Patterson sells a cable stop as an option that bolts to the back plate. Alternatively a third party cable stop clamped to the derailleur post could be used. The second issue is related to the torque arm, or torque limiter. The torque arm is suppose to sit firmly against the chain stay of an upright bike, and it keeps the Patterson back plate and mechanism from rotating under heavy load. On an upright bike the chain stay comes very close to the back plate of the crank, so a small torque arm is sufficient. However, on a Tour II the torque arm must engage the center of the boom, or the crank could become damaged. This requires a much larger torque arm with a longer reach.

Bottom.JPG