Lighting, Visibility, Hacks and Riding Safety (Live long and pedal...)

I started riding my Terra Trike Rambler GT in mid-Aug 2015 here in far NW Arkansas.  I was a complete novice and had to learn a lot through experience. I also learned a lot from reading these forum postings.  Combine this with Google and YouTube and you can find a tremendous amount of information.

I'm starting this discussion to pass along some of my own experiences in hopes it will help you and/or give you ideas.  You'll find other regular contributors on the forums who will help you as well.  As an adult educator one of things I learned is that when you bring a group of adults together to solve problems and share information you will quickly realize the depth and width of knowledge available to a topic/subject. It's staggering. Use it. Uh, be advised that you may, on occasion, encounter curmudgeons: grouchy, cranky, negative people who will contradict, argue and disparage what you say or ask.  Learn from them also as I did.  Such is life.

Since mid-August I've ridden 764 miles.  I have to ride six miles of city streets and cross major intersections to get onto the Razorback Greenway Trail System and I'm still alive!  Only once have I had a hair raising experience (actually very little hair).  This @##hole pulled out in front of me with a big pickup truck and a flatbed trailer...intentionally.  I was in a dedicated (well signed) path, on a downgrade doing 15 mph when the truck zipped up to the road, jammed on the throttle and pulled out in front of me.  I locked up the wheels and turned 30 degrees sideways to avoid messing up his paint job (Actually the truck was a piece of ####). :D