Peddle Clips?

Hey guys, I'm pondering adding a set of peddle clips to my Rover NuVinci.  I have the peddle straps now, which work okay, but I hear folks on traditional street bikes talking about how awesome clips are.  I have no experience with them, but it seems you can pull, as well as push, which supposedly helps over longer distances?

Any thoughts on these?  Are they better than straps?
If so, which types are best?

Thanx!

Comments

• @ClanRiffster - we have a Rover Nuvinci and the first mod I made was to install a set of Shimano PD M324 pedals. These have a 'clip' on one side and a standard platform on the other. They come with one set of cleats that you attach to your shoes. You can order a set of these pedals from TerraTrike if you wish.

Background - I have issues with my left calf and foot. I do not trust my foot to stay in place with just a platform and do not wish to limit blood flow to my foot with a strap. If your foot comes off on the Rover, you could experience 'foot suck'. This is where your foot/calf could be rolled back under your trike. Not a good outcome!

A benefit of the M324's is that you can learn how to push/pull with both legs as you ride. For example - as your right leg pushes the right pedal away from you, your left leg is pulling the left pedal towards you. The result is more efficient riding power. 

• Yes, you need shoes made for clips.  The shoes have a stiffer sole which makes pedaling more efficient.  You might think your foot is to rigidly hooked to the pedals but they have a tension adjustment.  I backed mine off so they work fine.

You actually don't have to learn to push/pull.  Just relax and pedal.  Your brain will adjust automatically so that you pedaling becomes much more efficient.  I tried to consciously push and pull and I couldn't do it.  When I relaxed and didn't think about it....baboom...it just happened. :-)