Chain falling off under pressure

My chain keeps coming off the rear sprocket whenever I start pushing harder to get up an incline. I have the i8 Sturmey Archer.

Any ideas would be appreciated

Comments

• Might want to try down shifting and spinning faster rather than pushing to get up inclines.
  • I was down in 2 and 1
  • Are you still having to push in 2 and 1? What size gear is the front?
  • Normal from factory. I fixed the issue be readjusting rear wheel position
  • Gotta remember, I'm a 360 pound newbie. I'm going to struggle going up a pimple
  • I understand. I weighed 325 when I started riding and dreaded any and all inclines. But trying to force the pedals can be bad on the knees, so be careful and keep riding!
  • Learning cadence seems to help with hills
  • Are you using the standard 8 gears, no second chainring up front? More curious as may be getting a Rover soon, and I'm at 389#.
  • I had the same issue until I re-positioned the rear wheel as far forward as possible in the bracket, and re-positioned the boom to compensate. Now, my rear wheel cannot slip under load. Problem solved.
  • @IdahoTrailLizard, the Rover is great for our size. I would STRONGLY recommend you either buy from factory and ask for the Nexus internal hub, or dish out the money for the CVT hub. I got the SA hub when I bought from my local dealer, and the "pause then shift" really threw me for a loop. My understanding is that the Nexus internal hub lets you shift while still pedaling.  Oh, and maybe ask for Schwalbe Marathon GT tires instead of the regular ones.

A FUTURE upgrade for me (maybe you too?) will be to replace the 20" rear with 24" or 26" and add a second sprocket up front. Going to 26" makes your 1 - 8 gears more like 4 - 12 (or worse?), losing the hill climb and granny gears. The second sprocket would be to regain those low gears.