Patterson Thoughts?

So, I've been riding my Rover NuVinci a while now, (just replaced the tires), and I was thinking about ways to slightly increase both the top speed and the hill climbing ability, by a small margin, without going bankrupt in the process.  I saw a few earlier posts which mentioned the Patterson Transmission Crankset, and wondered if this would work on a NuVinci.

I've already flipped my Rover once, so I'm not looking to turn it into a race bike, though a few extra miles per hour would be welcome, as would a moderate improvement in climbing hills.  I went to the Patterson website, and they don't really explain how their drive works, at least not to a degree that I could understand.  If there are two ring gears hidden inside the crankset, would this cause chain length issues?  Is the gear range, (is that the right word?), compatible with acquiring a slightly higher top end, and slightly slower low end?

I'm not an expert on bike stuff, by any definition, so I hope my question makes sense.
If I've made any blatant engineering errors with my inquiry, I welcome any wisdom which would help set me straight.

-Sean

Comments

• The Patterson crank is an internally geared crank, similar to your internally geared hub. The chain length wouldn't change providing the crank ring stays the same. The gear range would change to the equivalent of having a 28 tooth and a 45 tooth chain ring on the crank. If you currently have a 32 tooth ring on the crank the Patterson would give you a lower low and a higher high gear.