Rover Good for All-Around?

Hi Folks,
I posted this earlier today, but after a couple of editing sessions because I wrote it in a hurry, the post disappeared. I don't know if I accidentally deleted it or I did something else to where the admin would delete it wrong, but it was gone. I found this forum and everyone here seems friendly and knowledgeable, which is what I need at this stage of the game, since I'm a total newbie to bent trikes.
Anyway, I am still looking for the right trike and am strongly considering the Rover. The duties I will need (here in SW Florida) a trike to do will be bike trails, countryside neighborhood rides, jaunts of 2-20 miles, eventually some weekend rides out to 40 or 50 miles, sight seeing, and parks, etc. My wife is riding a DF comfort bike, so I will need to keep up with her. I'm not into speed anymore, but what is a good cruising speed considered for the Rover with an internal 8 Nexus? I was looking at a site for a bicycle club in the next county and most of their rides seem to be in the 14-16 mph range, so is this do-able with a Rover (I'm not in shape now, well, unless you call letting myself get slightly round as being in a shape)?
I got to test ride a Rambler, but couldn't try the Rover as it had just been sold. The salesman said the 8-speed Rambler would be similar to the i-8 Rover in feel and handling, except that it's a bit more heavy due to the steel in the frame.
I want whatever I get to last me a long time because I'm trying to think positively and that my wife and I will be able to ride for years to come after we retire next summer.
Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• 47 pounds i8 rover, about 6 pounds lighter for a rambler i8 (no longer in production).

check out the wifes usual cruise speed to determine your gearing need.