Panniers or Trailer for Rover Tandem?

I am brand new to the forum and am planning on purchasing a Rover Tandem this spring. I have NO experience with recumbents, trikes or tandems - it has all been 2 wheels and upright :-)

My girlfriend has some physical issues that make a tandem a logical choice for us to enjoy our biking time to together, and a trike seemed like the safest way to do that. I would foresee mostly 'day-trips' on our local gravel paths and occasional on some back road riding in the beautiful hilly area we live in too.

On my two wheeled touring bike I use traditional panniers. What do you all use as far as 'storage area' goes? I did not see any larger bags on Terra Trikes site at all. Are there websites that cater to this type of things that I just have not found yet? Also, is it possible to pull a bike trailer such as a BOB or even a small child carrier type with a Rover Tandem? Would there be a lot of modifications to make a trailer set up work? I realized that this would be a pretty looonnnggg unit, but that does not bother me much as I have a trialer plenty big to take it in, and could also store it at a friends house who lives right on one of our main trials also.

Looking forward to a new way of biking and all the knowledge about it that seems to be in these forums :-)

Thanks, Dan Dietz

• edited January 2017
    Hi Dan,

Short version of my suggestion: Get the rack TT has, then get panniers elsewhere.

One thing that can surprise a lot of people new to trikes is that many, if not most, of the components are standard bike parts. It's the frame and how they're laid out that is custom, along with a few other things like the steering mechanism.

There are exceptions, and you do need to check things out first, but for the most part the above holds true.