How to install a Lasco Crankset (Very Long)

edited February 2014 in Rover
I was asked to do a white-paper on changing my cranks, and getting lower gearing.

I am trying to also share my thoughts about why I did what I did, and why I chose the parts I did.

I have no special knowledge or skill in trike repair. Common sense, along with basic skills in using hand tools to remove and replace stuff is what I used. Knowing to not over-tighten stuff, realizing that different parts need to be tightened to different levels, that it’s best to remember how tight a part was when you removed it, so you can try to get it as tight as it was when you put it back on.

This was done on a Rover 8-speed. While most of this will be the same on most all trikes, please be aware that different trikes may bring different issues.

As of this writing, I have 84 miles on my Rover after doing this change. I am completely happy that I made this change. For me, the shorter cranks are a good change. Realizing that I am not a Doctor at all, I highly recommend shorter cranks for anyone with knee issues.

Please realize, using the parts to effect the change that I used makes it very easy to go back to the stock gearing, or, with more parts, I could change my Rover to either a 16-speed or a 24-speed~! By saving everything I took off, and everything I didn’t use, I am able to either put the old Crankset back on, or if I like the shorter cranks but want to go back to the stock gearing, all I need to do is use the 32T from the new Crankset to replace the 22T – lots of choices, and future possible upgrades.
--

Why did I change to the Lasco Crankset? First off, I had done a lot of reading about the PROs and CONs of changing the length of the cranks. The stock cranks are 170mm, and I have read of folks changing them to 165mm, 152mm, and all the way down to an extreme of 110mm.